How the scheme works

The award scheme is based on the WMA age-graded tables which have been developed over a period of years by the World Masters Athletics (WMA) to allow runners to fairly compete with others by taking into consideration age and gender. There are 8 award levels available; Pearl, Opal, Amber, Emerald, Ruby, Sapphire, Diamond and Platinum, increasing in difficulty as you move up the tables.

How to Qualify

Qualifying times are required from any 3 of the following distances: 5km, 5 mile, 10km, 10 mile, half marathon and marathon. The times must be obtained within the 12-month period (1st January – 31st December) and submitted via an application form to be eligible for an award. Only properly certified races will be eligible and where possible, chip timings should be submitted. All race times submitted will be verified before acceptance. Only one award can be claimed per year.

How do I work out which award I can get?

There are tables available to assist in working out which awards are obtainable and which you can aim for in the future. They show the time needed to achieve for your age group and gender for each award level. Awards are calculated using the age you were on 1st January.

Who can apply?

All paid up club members can apply for an award. Awards will be presented at the annual presentation evening.

How do I apply?

Use the form links on the email you should have received.